About Qatar
A country with a concrete vision
Qatar is a peninsula located halfway down the west coast of the Arabian Gulf. Its territory comprises a number of islands including Halul, Sheraouh, Al-Ashat and others.
Land Area
11,521 SQM
Capital City
3 hours + GMT
176.22 QAR billions
GDP Annual Growth Rate
Topographic Features
The terrain is flat and rocky with some low-rising limestone outcrops in Dukhan area in the west and Jabal Fuwairit in the north. It is characterized by a variety of geographical phenomena including many coves, inlets, depressions and surface rainwater-draining basins known as riyadh (the gardens), which are found mainly in the north and central part of the peninsula. These areas have the most fertile soil and are rich in vegetation.
Land Area
The total land area of Qatar is approximately 11,521 square kilometers
Capital City
Official Language
Arabic is the official language in Qatar, and English is widely spoken
Islam is the official religion of the country, and the Shariah (Islamic Law) is a main source of its legislations
Qatar has a moderate desert climate with long hot summers and short mild winters and little rain in winter
Major Cities
Doha, Al Wakrah, Al Khor, Dukhan, Al Shamal, Mesaieed, Ras Laffan and others
The official currency is the Qatari Riyal (QR), which is divided into 100 dirhams. The Exchange parity has been set at the fixed rate of US $ = 3.65QR's
Public holidays
National Day: 18th of December
Eid Al-Fitr Holiday: Starts from the 28th of Ramadan until the 4th of Shawwal (changes on the Gregorian Calendar each year)
Eid Al- Adha Holiday: starts at 9th of Zilhijjah until the 13th of Zilhijjah (changes on the Gregorian Calendar each year)
National flag
The national flag is maroon colour with a broad vertical white stripe at the pole, the two colors being separated with a nine-point serrated line